Wazito comes from behind to down Nzoia Sugar

 Wazito FC came from a goal down to beat Nzoia Sugar FC 2-1 in  Betking Premier League match played on Friday afternoon at Utalii Grounds.

Erick Otieno gave Nzoia the lead in the 8th minute heading home a James Kibande delivery. Kevin Kimani drew Wazito level in the 57th minute from the penalty spot after Dennis Sikhayi was fouled inside the area. Whyvonne Isuza then hit the winner in the 72nd minute in scrappy fashion.

Nzoia started the game strongly and had two good chances inside the first five minutes. Erick Otieno however failed to beat Fredrick Odhiambo twice.


He was however a third time lucky when he rose high to head home a James Kibande delivery from the right flank in the 8th minute. A minute later, Boniface Omondi had a great chance to draw the hosts level but his header went straight to Humphrey Katasi’s arms.

Wazito slowly grew into the game without any serious penetration. The visitors however remained a threat on the break.

The hosts continued to create chances, Michael Owino’s fantastic header was met with an equally fantastic save from Katasi in the 27th minute. The custodian did well a minute later to deny Musa Masika who unleashed a long-range shot. 


Owino was once again unlucky as his header came off the upright. Nzoia took a 1-0 advantage to the break.

 Wazito got the equalizer in the 56th minute through Kevin Kimani who scored from the penalty spot. Dennis Sikhayi was fouled inside the area and the winger stepped forward to beat Katasi.

After getting the leveler, the hosts continued to press in search of more goals. They introduced Vincent Oburu for Boniface Omondi in the 65th minute as coach Francis Kimanzi looked to reinforce his attack.


They got the second in the 71st minute when Whyvonne Isuza fired home following a confusion inside the Nzoia penalty area.

Nzoia pressed for a leveler in the dying minutes but they could not get it and in the end, Wazito picked a fourth straight win.

Wazito FC starting XI: Fredrick Odhiambo (GK), Dennis Sikhayi, Dennis Ng’ang’a, Johnstone Omurwa, Bernard Ochieng, Fidel Origa, Whyvonne Isuza, Kevin Kimani, Boniface Omondi(65’ Vincent Oburu), Musa Masika (86’ Maurice Ojwang), Michael Owino

Unused subs: Bixente Otieno (GK), David Otieno, Amos Asembeka, Joshua Nyatini, Brian Musa, Kevin Okumu, Ali Hassan,

Nzoia Sugar starting XI: Humphrey Katasi (GK), Kevin Maliachi, Dennis Wanjala, Gabriel Wandera, Elvis Ronack, Kevin Juma, James Kibande (63’ Gaetan Masha), Daniel Musamali, Erick Otieno (73’ Elisha Wekesa), Leonard Kasembeli (79’ Philip Muchuma), Felicien Okanda

Unused subs: Mustapha Oduor, Emmanuel Esekon, Moses Mwale, Peter Gin, Dan Wafula

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.