Wazito, Bandari share the spoils in a thrilling clash

Wazito FC and Bandari FC played out to a 2-2 draw in an entertaining Betking Premier League match played on Saturday afternoon at the Kasarani Annex.

William Wadri gave Bandari the lead on the stroke of halftime from the penalty spot. Abdallah Hassan went down under a challenge from Amos Asembeka and the referee pointed to the spot, Wadri stepped forward to convert.

Michael Owino then drew Wazito level in the 56th minute before Kevin Kimani completed the turnaround for Francis Kimanzi’s men. They were however pegged back by a late equalizer from Benjamin Mosha.

The match started in a rather balanced way with both teams fighting to take control of the match. The first chance went Wazito’s way but Whyvonne Isuza’s connection to a Rooney Onyango delivery went over the bar. Wazito had another opportunity in the 12th minute from a set-piece but Ali Hassan’s attempt narrowly missed the target.

Bandari’s best chance came in the 33rd minute when Darius Msagha delivered a good cross into the area, Maurice Ojwang however did well to clear the danger with Wadri ready to pounce.

Just before the break, Bandari won a penalty. Abdallah Hassan went down from a challenge from Amos Asembeka and referee Nyabera Libese pointed to the spot. William Wadri stepped forward and converted.

Wazito upped the tempo of the game after the interval and 11 minutes into the second half they got a leveler through Michael Owino who fired home from a Whyvonne Isuza pass.

Ten minutes after coming on, Kevin Kimani gave Wazito the lead with a stunning free-kick from the edge of the penalty area. Wazito continued to run the show and nearly got another goal moments later but Whyvonne Isuza failed to find the back of the net from close range.

The miss would come to haunt them as Benjamin Mosha came off the bench to score Bandari’s second from an Abdallah Hassan delivery, the goal proved important as it earned them a point.

Wazito FC starting XI: Levis Opiyo, Rooney Onyango, Dennis Ng’ang’a, Maurice Ojwang, Bernard Ochieng, Fidel Origa, Amos Asembeka, Whyvonne Isuza, Ali Hassan, Boniface Omondi, Michael Owino

Subs: Bixente Otieno, Joseph Odhiambo, Johnstone Omurwa, David Otieno, Brian Musa, Musa Masika, Kevin Kimani, Erick Otieno, Vincent Oburu

Bandari starting XI: Justin Ndikumana, Amai Atariza, Felly Mulumba, Dan Guya, Mohamed Siraj, Collins Agade, Danson Chetambe, Abdallah Hassan, Darius Msagha, Keagan Ndemi, William Wadri

Subs : Michael Wanyika, Dancan Otewa, Iddi Hassan Swaleh Chacha, Alphonse Washe, Benjamin Mosha, Wilberforce Lugogo, Johanna Mwita, Umaru Kasumba,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.