Vihiga United upset All Stars to earn Premier League promotion

Vihiga United will play in the FKFPL in the 2020/21 season, this after the team defeated Kisumu All Stars on post-match penalties in the return-leg of their playoff tie played at the Moi Stadium in Kisumu on Wednesday 4 November.

United won 5-3 on penalties after winning the game 2-1 to draw the tie 3-3 on aggregate. All Stars had won the first-leg fixture played in Mumias four days prior also by a 2-1 scoreline.

Erick Otieno put the hosts ahead and well in command of the tie in the 47th minute but Vihiga would respond immediately through Dennis Wafula to head into the break tied at 1-1. Captain Patrick Okulo would then step-up 10 minutes after the interval to convert from the spot and give the visitors a lead they would not relinquish.

Kisumu All Stars’ Erick Otieno (L) vies for the ball with Vihiga United’s Mike Odongo in Kisumu on Wednesday 4 November.

Crucial miss

In the shootout, first-leg savior Willis Otenda would crash his effort into the upright to allow Vihiga seal the comeback win and become the first ever team from the National Super League (NSL) to earn promotion to the top tier via the playoffs, which were first played in 2017.

The Vihiga county sponsored side now return to the FKFPL just one season after they were demoted in 2019, which was also their debut campaign in the top tier.

Vihiga’s win now completes the 18-team list for the new season which will be under new management with Football Kenya Federation (FKF) taking the mantle from the Kenyan Premier League (KPL).

Below is how both teams lined up;

Kisumu All Stars

Starting XI: John Awuoth (GK), Gerishom Osumba, Arthur Ochung’, Patrick Omondi, Jeconia Ogendo, Willis Otenda, Martin Okumu, Nelson Amunga, Erick Otieno, Michael Owino, Steve Otieno

Subs: Were (GK), Otieno, Oyugi, Owino, Oduor, Kwasira, Owira

Vihiga United

Starting XI: Joel Bataro (GK), Dennis Ombeva, Michael Odongo, Sammy Sindani, Norman Werunga, Lesley Owino, Patrick Okulo, Junior Adeyefa, Dennis Wafula, Henry Juma, Mike Isabwa

Subs: Ambuka (GK), Onyango, Kidamba, Nthata, Luvanda, Simiyu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.