Vihiga United dispatch Nzoia Sugar for first win

Vihiga United bagged their first full set of three points in the BetKing Premier League (BKPL) after dispatching Nzoia Sugar 2-1 in a round 3 BKPL match played at the Mumias Sports Complex from 3 pm on Sunday 13th.

Goals from Norman Werunga and Lesley Otieno proved better that Gabriel Wandera’s lone effort for the visitors to ensure Sammy Okoth’s men, returning to the top flight after a season out, record their first win having fallen in their opening two matches.

Otieno Hillary surged forward in just the second minute and was bundled down in the box. A penalty followed, and powerfully driven in by Norman Werunga who goes to two goals for the season.

The visitors tried to get on even terms in the tie, kept it low but couldn’t get past Morgan Ambuka in goal for the hosts.

In the 41st minute however, Wandera Gabriel, playing in the midfield, arrived to the hosts’ blind side and fired in a Mwale Moses cross. It was 1-1 with four minutes to the break.

Nzoia looked to have neutralized the home threat but had they kept their concentration up, perhaps spoils would have been shared at the break. Lesley Otieno latched onto a loose rebound resulting from a corner kick in the second minute of added time to beat Mustapha for 2-1.  Vihiga led at the break.

No changes were made as the second half began and it would take Felix Oluoch’s 59th minute shot to really task Morgan Ambuka with a save. The rebound though tucked away by Erick Otieno, was adjudged to have been offside. Oluoch soon paved way for Kasuti Cliff.

Falling back into their own half, United defended resolutely and held on for their first win of the season.

Vihiga Starting XI: Imbuka Morgan (GK), Muyesu Johnson, Ombeva Dennis, Aduda Abisalom, Werunga Norman, Okola Mark, Nthatha Wycliffe, Otieno Lesley, Otieno Hillary, Wafula Dennis, Simiyu David (Imbusia 79)

Bench: Matasio M, Khaemba Z, Odongo M, Okullo P, Sisia T, Henry J, Imbusia A, Lawrence L, Igunza R

Nzoia Starting XI: Oduor Mustapha (GK), Mwale M, Wanjala Dennis, Karani Ian, Otieno Elvis, Wandera Gabriel, Felicien Okanda (Muchuma 86), Juma Kevin, Otieno Erick, Masha Gaetan, Oluoch Felix (Kasuti 60).

Bench: Katasi H, Maliachi K, Kasuti C, Kakai D, Kasembeli L, Simiyu I, Muchuma P

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.