Tactical Leopards seal maiden league victory over Sharks

AFC Leopards sealed their first league win over Kariobangi Sharks on Sunday thanks to a comfortable 2-0 result secured on matchday nine of the 2020/21 BetKing Premier League (BPL) season.

Early and late goals from Elvis Rupia and Jaffari Owiti at the Kasarani Stadium annex, handed Ingwe their maiden upset over Sharks in eight attempts.

Despite a late dismissal for Fabrice Mugheni, Leopards secured the victory that sees them leapfrog Sharks into 4th place on the standings. Both teams are now tied at 15 points each.

Top scorers

The match billed as the “battle of the top scorers”, as both teams’ strikers in Rupia and Eric Kapaito have pulled clear of the rest in the golden boot race, saw Rupia add to his tally as early as the 10th minute when he took advantage of a poor attempt of a clearance by Samuel Olwande to blast a superb shot past Brian Bwire from just inside the area.

The goal was the ninth of the campaign for the former Nzoia Sugar man and which keeps him hot on the heels of Kapaito in the race for the golden boot. Kapaito, who cut a frustrated figure all through the match, has managed 11 goals so far.

After the goal, Leopards played more on the backfoot, willingly relinquishing possession to William Muluya’s charges.


This allowed them to play on the counter and in stoppage time, the tactic worked when substitute Owiti stripped Shaphan Oyugi of the ball as Sharks were in the middle of an attack and immediately shot from wayout, catching Bwire off his line; the goal coming just minutes after Anthony Kimani’s men had been reduced to 10 following Mugheni’s second yellow of the afternoon.

After losing two in a row, Ingwe have now won two matches back to back which is the complete opposite for Sharks, who have hit a snug and have now lost two in a row.

Below is how both teams lined up;

Kariobangi Sharks

Starting XI: Brian Bwire (GK), Samuel Olwande, Geoffrey Shiveka, Boniface Onyango, James Mazembe, Daniel Sakari, Shaphan Oyugi, Peter Lwasa (83’ R.Odede), Eric Juma (79’ J.Omondi), Douglas Mokaya (58’J.Masaba), Eric Kapaito

Subs: Brandon Obiero (GK), Tom Omenda, Alphonse Omija, Boniface Mwangemi, Peter Oudu

AFC Leopards

Starting XI: Benjamin Ochan (GK), Collins Shivachi, Clyde Senaji, Robinson Kamura, Lewis Bandi, Said Tsuma, Fabrice Mugheni, Austin Odhiambo (66’ J.Owiti), Marvin Nabwire (66’ P.Thiong’o), Bien Shaka, Elvis Rupia (82’ E.Mukangula)

Subs: John Oyemba (GK), Robert Mudenyu, Caleb Olilo, Hansel Ochieng

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.