Special transfer window opens for Mathare United, Zoo players

A total of 54 players registered for the season by Mathare United and Zoo FC have been declared free agents by the Football Kenya Federation (FKF). The move comes in the aftermath of the suspension of the two clubs from the BetKing Premier League.

The two clubs declined to sign up the StarTimes Media and Commercial Rights endorsement deal as a prerequisite for them participating in the BetKing Premier League. As a result, the topmost decision-making organ in football management in the country – the FKF National Executive Committee met on Friday 9th December to deliberate on the fate of the clubs.

Failed to commit

As a resolution, the clubs were given until Friday 11 December at 5pm to commit to the broadcast deal but they failed to. With the two sides having already signed players in readiness for the new season, the said players have been handed the greenlight to seek new employers.

The special transfer window for the players will last two weeks and will be shut on Monday 28th December. Meanwhile, the two clubs have been struck off the BetKing Premier League standings and the fixtures reworked.

The affected players:  

Mathare United: Anthony Oginga, Austine Ochieng, Boniface Akenga, Cersidy Okeyo, Chrispin Ochieng, Clifford Alwanga, Dani Lual Gumnok Thon, Daniel Otieno, Danson Mumo, David Abongo, Dennis Sakhwe, Eugene Wethuli, Francis Omondi, James Kinyanjui, Job Ochieng, John Mwangi, Kennedy Ochieng, Khalid Jumaan, Klinsman Henry, Lennox Ogutu, Martin Mang’abo, Martin Werunga, Mburu Moses, Norman Ogola, Stephen Otieno and Tyson Otieno

Zoo FC: Alex Onchwari, Benard Batoo Kipkirui, Bernard Odhiambo Wanguche, Brian Kiplangat, Brian Lumumba, Brian Otieno, Collins Odhiambo, Danson Kiprono, Dennis Bwana Ongeri, Domnic Kiprono, Edwin Namasaka, Ernest Kipkoech, Fredrick Otiso Mogere, Geoffrey Gichana, George Otieno, Ggolola Summy, Kepha Nyamanya Ondati, Maxwell Muchesia, Michael Juma, Milimu Anami, Munyala Akiya Stanlaus, Newton Ondari, Onditi Joseph, Ouma Oluoch Godfrey, Pascal Ogweno, Patrick Matini, Tayo Mathew and Vincent Musikhu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.