Sofapaka piles more misery on Zoo in Kasarani

Zoo’s poor run in the Betking Premier League continued after they suffered a 2-0 defeat to Sofapaka in a match played on Wednesday afternoon at the Kasarani Annex.

Sofapaka went ahead in the 10th minute through Lawrence Juma. The midfielder fired home his fifth of the season after a good layoff from Collins Wakhungu outside the penalty area.

Zoo barely threatened the hosts, the half-chances they created were easily dealt with by the Sofapaka defenders.

Kepha Aswani doubled Batoto Ba Mungu’s lead in the 29th minute after he was set up by Roy Okal.

Visibly overwhelmed and outplayed, Zoo made two changes ten minutes before the break. Edwin Namasaka and Elvis Kiplangat were taken off for Danson Kiprono and Tayo Odongo.


Sofapaka continued to dominate the match in search of more goals. Timothy Otieno, Aswani and Collins Wakhungu continued to raid but Zoo managed to contain the pressure. Sofapaka took a 2-0 lead to the break.

Sofapaka continued to run the show after the break but unlike in the first stanza, Zoo defended better.  After the hour mark, Sofapaka introduced new signing Amissi Bizimana for Colins Wakhungu.

Substitute Joe Waithira had a good chance to find the back of the net after dribbling past several players in the 75th minute, his final shot however went wide.

Bizimana, Paul Kiongera, and Lawrence Juma both came close to adding to Batoto Ba Mungu’s tally but they failed to utilize the chances.

Sofapaka starting XI: Simon Masaka, Willis Obayi, Stephen Okola, Titus Achesa, Michael Kibwage,  Mohammed Kilume, Collins Wakhungu (67′ Amissi Bizimana). Roy Okal, Timothy Otieno (89′ Paul Kiongera), Lawrence Juma, Kefa Aswani (46′ Joe Irungu)

Unused subs: Kevin Omondi, Brian Nyakan, Isaac Mitima, Sammy Imbuye, Nixon Omondi, Sebastine Sunday

Zoo FC starting XI: Brian Lumumba (GK), Dominic Ouma, Pascal Ogweno, Alex Onchwari, Stanslous Akiya, Edwin Namasaka (35′ Tayo Odongo), Kepha Ondati, Summy Ggolola, Geoffrey Gichana, Elvis Kiplangat (35′ Danson Kiprono 70′ Dennis Ongeri) , Collins Neto

Unused subs: Maxwell Mulili, Matini Murabwa, Dennis Omondi, Newton Ondari

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.