Sharks Whip Wazito at Kasarani


Kariobangi started their 2020/21 Betking Premier League campaign with a resounding 4-0 win over Wazito FC in a match played at Moi International Centre Kasarani on Sunday afternoon.

The match started slowly with neither of the sides creating any clear-cut chances. Sharks were forced into an early change when dependable defender Samuel Olwande was forced off with what looked like a groin problem, youngster Boniface Onyango took his place.

Against the run of play, Sharks went ahead in the 34th minute in a spectacular fashion. Defender Daniel Sakari picked the ball outside the area and send a rocket into the top right corner. Sharks took a one goal lead to the break.

Wazito made two changes shortly after the start of the second half. Whyvonne Isuza and Amos Asembeka were withdrawn for Ali Hassan and Kennedy Owino as Coach Francis Kimanzi looked to cause the hosts problems.

Sharks added a second in the 62nd minute through Eric Kapaito who raced through the middle before firing past Fredrick Odhiambo, he got his second of the game in the 78th minute. Julius Masaba then completed the rout in stoppage time.

The win takes Sharks top of the log after Match Day 1.

Sharks starting XI: Brian Bwire, Daniel Sakari, Samuel Olwande (24’ Boniface Onyango), John Kuol,  Eric Juma, Saphan Oyugi (61’ Peter Oudu) Patillah Omoto, Eric Kapaito, James Mazembe (61’ Julius Masaba), Patrick Otieno, Peter Lwasa

Unused subs: Bandon Obiero, Douglas Mokaya, John Omondi, Robert Onyango, Joshua Maero

Wazito Starting XI: Fredrick Odhiambo (GK), Kevin Okumu (68’ Musa Masika), Johnstone Omurwa Maurice Ojwang, Dennis Ng’ang’a, Fidel Origa, Amos Asembeka (54’ Kennedy Owino), Whyvonne Isuza (54’ Ali Hassan) Joe Waithira, Boniface Omondi (68’ Clinton Okoth) Ronald Omino (41’ Kevin Kimani)

Unused subs: Stephen Odhiambo (GK), David Otieno, Bernard Ochieng, , Brian Musa

Kariobangi Sharks vs Wazito FC match officials    

Match commissioner- Edward Lubungu

Center referee-Wilson Otieno

1st Assistant referee-Gilbert Cheruiyot

2nd Assistant referee-Jane Cherono

Reserve referee-Raymond Onyango

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.