Sharks prevail in seven-goal thriller against Gor Mahia

Kariobangi Sharks claimed all the spoils against Gor Mahia on Sunday by beating the defending league champions 4-3 in a BetKing Premier League (BPL) round 7 encounter played at the outside pitch of the Kasarani Stadium.

The nervy encounter for both teams was settled by John Kuol who powered a header past K’Ogalo keeper Gad Matthew with 13 minutes left to play.

Gor found themselves 3-1 down at halftime as inform Sharks forward Eric Kapaito continued with his fine start to the season by netting a brace with Daniel Sakari also getting in on the act. Cliff Miheso kept Gor in the game with a close range finish.

Gor comeback

A more improved showing from Gor in the second period saw them claw their way back to tie the game at 3-3 thanks to efforts from substitute John Macharia and defender Joachim Oluoch. Sharks would however have the final say with Kuol providing the killer blow.

Gor had new headcoach Carlos Vaz Pinto in the stands as they suffered their second loss of the season. The Portuguese tactician was appointed on Sunday, replacing Roberto Oliveira who parted ways with the club three months ago.

The win sees Sharks command second place on the standings as they move up to 15 points, three behind leaders KCB. Gor on their part find themselves third from bottom with three points from as many matches.

Below is how both teams lined-up;

Kariobangi Sharks

Starting XI: Brian Bwire (GK), Tom Teka, Geoffrey Lemu, John Kuol, Samuel Olwande, Patilla Omoto, Daniel Sakari Peter Lwasa, Douglas Mokaya, James Mazembe, Eric Kapaito

Subs: Brandon Obiero (GK), Boniface Mwangemi, Alphonse Omija, Shaphan Oyugi, Vincent Odango, Boniface Onyango, Ronald Reagan, Peter Oudo, Eric Juma

Gor Mahia

Starting XI: Gad Matthew (GK), Philemon Otieno, Michael Apudo, Joachim Ouluoch, Andrew Juma, Ernest Wendo, Nicholas Kipkirui, Bertrand Konfor, Jules Ulimwengu, Kenneth Muguna, Cliff Miheso

Subs: Samuel Njau (GK), Geoffrey Ochieng, Frank Odhiambo, Kevin Wasonga, Kennedy Odhiambo, John Macharia, Alphonse Onyango, Nicholas Omondi, Andrew Numeru, Tito Okello, Dickson Raila

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.