Resolute Nzoia holds Sharks in bungoma

Nzoia Sugar FC put up a brilliant fight to claim their first point of the season after holding Kariobangi Sharks to a 0-0 draw in a Round 2 BetKing Premier League match played at the Sudi Stadium from 3 pm on Saturday 5th December.

Boniface Onyango for Sharks and Dennis Wanjala for Nzoia, both left-footed, set the game rolling with very close free-kicks under five minutes. Whereas Onyango’s shot was equalled by Mustapha Oduor in goal for Nzoia, Wanjala’s would veer just inches wide.

The hosts played wide on the attack and duly had Onyango carded in the 37th minute for a late foul on Clif Kasuti. A minute later, Kevin Juma’s left footed effort from the edge of the box went wide. The oeping half would see two more yellow cards as Siwa Shaphan brought down Kasuti in the 41st minute. Gaetan Masha for the hosts, took one for the team after a rough challenge on Peter Lwassa.

The two teams went tied at 0-0 at the break and the second half was a flurry of hard tackling that saw center referee Felix Ekai dish out more warnings.

Striker Eric Otieno was the first in the book in the second stanza and soon followed Kevin Juma for a foul on his former teammate Patrick Otieno. Patilla Omotto was next in the 82nd minute for a professional foul on Gaetan Masha who had threatened to break away.

Changes in the second half included a double from Coach William Muluya when he withdrew James Mazembe and Shaphan Siwa in favour of Julius Masaba and Ronald Odede. The hosts responded by throwing in Muvhuma Phillip for Eric Otieno while Ian Simiyu took Kasuti Clif’s place.

In terms of chances, both defences played a good game, with dangerous crosses well taken care of. The tie would end goalless which sees the hosts Nzoia record their first point of the season. Sharks meanwhile, relinquish top spot in the table standings.

Nzoia Starting XI: Oduor Mustapha (GK), Mwale Moses, Wanjala dennis, Esekon Emmanuel, Wandera Gabriel, Juma Kevin, Kasuti Cliff, Musamali Dan, Otieno Erick, Masha Gaetan, Felicien Okanda.

Bench: Katasi Humphrey, Maliachi Kevin, Munanai John, Kasembeli Leonard, Simiyu Ian, Mboya Felix, Muchuma Phillip

Sharks Starting XI: Bwire Brian (GK), Geoffrey Shiveka, John Kuol, Boniface Onyango, Patillah Omotto, Shaphan Oyugi, Peter Lwassa, James Mazembe, Daniel Sakari, Erick Kapaito, Patrick Otieno.

Bench: Brandon Nathan, Thomas Omenda, Julius Masaba, Peter Oudu, John Omondi, Ronald Odede, Robert Onyango.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.