Rangers hold Homeboyz in Kakamega to Claim First Point

Posta Rangers threw away an early first half lead for a 1-1 even share of the spoils with hosts Kakamega Homeboyz in a round two BetKing Premier League fixture played at the Bukhungu Stadium from 3 pm on Sunday 6th.

It was the visitors that started on a high, when after pinning Homeboyz in their own 18 yard area, were lucky to get a loose ball off Bonaventure Atse and William Odero proved too strong for the Homeboyz midfielder. Odero out-muscled Atse and fired home for 1-0 on three minutes. The hosts were to chase the game from a very early minute.

Bad would turn to worse when Ahmed Ali Bhai lay sprawled on the turf, unable to continue the game after 12 minutes. Chamberi Abdallah took his place.

Rangers were to also be served a scare when Adira Jairus, brilliant in goal up to this point, went down from a collision. He was well attended to and resumed play soon after. Kisiavuki Clinton was the first into the referee’s book with a rough challenge on Thomas Wainaina and even as Homeboyz sought to draw level before half time, Rangers stood resolute and carried their lead into the break.

A return to the second half saw Dennis Oalo take Clinton Kisiavuki’s place for Rangers. Coach Muyoti Nicholas meanwhile, trusted his starting eleven to conjure something. Abdallah Chamberi’s 53rd effort was the closest they came in the opening minutes of the second stanza.

The equalizer however, would come late in the tie when Christopher Masinza, who had taken Stephen Etyang’s place, was hacked down in the box in the 83rd minute. Allan Wanga slotted from the penalty spot for 1-1.

The closing stages saw the hosts seek a second successive win while Rangers, having thrown away their lead, defended resolutely.

The two had to reach go home with a point.

Homeboyz Starting XI: David Juma (GK), Odhiambo Collins, Wainaina Thomas, Owino Sylvester, Oketch Benjamin, Atse Bonventure, Esiye Eston, Etyang Stephen, Wanga Allan, Ali Bhai, Odhiambo David

Bench: Sheikh Aleleey, Mukongolo Stephen, Wankuru Abdalla, Kovelo Mophat, Mbehelo Christopher, Chala Brian, Arrot Robert

Rangers Starting XI: Adira Jairus (GK), Osok Elvis, Mohammed Yusuf, Osman Suleiman, Mwema Dinken, Mbugi Joseph, Likono Gerson, Odero Sammy, Mwanzia Elijah, Odongo Cavin, Kisiavuki Clinton.

Bench: Opiyo Kelvin, Odeka Salim, Ouma Kevin, Dwang Jackson, Oalo Dennis, Okare Ezekiel,  Mutembei Ken.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.