Otieno strike salvages a point for Nzoia against posta Rangers

Nzoia Sugar and Posta Rangers played out to a 1-1 draw in a round 4 BetKing Premier League match played on Saturday 19th from 3 pm at the Sudi Stadium.

Goals from Joseph Mbugi and Erick Otieno saw both teams take a point each from the fiercely contested tie.

With each team seeking its first win of the season, Francis Nambute was the first with the match’s real threat, arriving on the end of a Jackson Dwang cross but his overhead kick could only find the crossbar. Humphrey Katasi in goal, however, had been beaten.

With just two minutes to the half hour mark, however, Maliachi Evans was adjudged to have brought down Eliud Lokuwam in the box and captain Joseph Mbugi stepped up to fire the visitors into the lead despite protestations from the host team.

Second Half

Cavin Odongo replaced the injured William Odero upon the resumption and after a quarter of an hour with scores unchanged, the hosts did a double substitution. Felicien Okanda and Gaetan Masha came off in favor of Felix Oluoch and Phillip Muchuma.

Five minutes later, they would draw level.

Erick Otieno thumped in a header from a Maliachi cross in the 65th minute for 1-1. Nzoia’s first goal on home soil this season.

No one could edge the tie for maximum points as both teams shared the spoils even as visiting coach Sammy Omollo threw in Kisiavuki Clinton at the death in a bid to grab all three.

Nzoia Starting XI: 15. Humphrey Katasi27. Kevin Maliachi25. Dennis Wanjala05. Ian Karani06. Gabriel Wandera ©13. Kevin Juma20. Okanda Felicien11 (Oluoch 59). Daniel Kakai29. Erick Otieno03. Gaetan Masha07 (Muchuma 59). Elisha Wekesa

*Substitutes*39. Benson Mangala28. Randy Bakari26. Brian Wanyonyi32. Leonard Kasembeli18. James Kibande34. Felix Mboya33. Philip Muchuma.

Posta Starting XI: Adira Jairus (GK), Osoko Elvis, Mohammed Yusuf, Mwema Dinken, Osman Ngotho, Mbugi Joseph, Lokuwam Eliud (Kisiavuki 86), Odero Sammy (Odongo 46), Okare Ezekiel, Dwang Jackson, Nambute Francis.

Bench: Omondi Byrne, Odeka Salim, Ouma Kevin, Odongo Cavin, Kisiavuki Clinton, Oalo Dennis Oporia Bill

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.