Otieno off the mark as Wazito downs hard-fighting Zoo

Wazito FC returned to winning ways with a hard-fought 1-0 win over Kericho-based side, Zoo FC in a Betking Premier League match staged at the Bukhungu Stadium in Kakamega County on Monday afternoon.

The Francis Kimanzi-led team had failed to win its last two matches losing to Tusker FC before settling for a one-all draw against Mathare United. Five minutes into the game, new signing Erick Otieno scored what proved to be the winning goal after being set up by Whyvonne Isuza.

Wazito went ahead in the 5th minute through Erick Otieno. Isuza did all the donkey work to set up the former Nzoia Sugar man who did not hesitate to fire home for his first goal for Wazito.

The visitors had a good chance to reply in the 12th minute but Collins Odhiambo’s effort was punched for a corner by Levis Opiyo on Wazito goal.

Visibly in charge of the clash, the hosts went all pout in search of more goals. Isuza and Ali Hassan failed to hit the target from prime positions after being set up by Musa Masika. Dennis Ng’ang’a saw his header from a Kevin Kimani delivery fly over the bar. Wazito took a narrow lead to the break.


The hosts continued to dominate after the interval, Kevin Kimani’s well delivered corner was cleared before a lurking Erick Otieno could pounce, Zoo defenders did well to block a Dennis Ng’ang’a free-kick at the hour. At the other end, Zoo had a good chance to level matters in the 62nd minute but Kepha Ondati hit the side-net from a prime position.

Wazito made two changes in the 69th minute. Vincent Oburu and Michael Owino were introduced for scorer Otieno and Ali Hassan. Oburu made an immediate impact forcing Vincent Misikhu on Zoo goal to pull two saves in quick succession.

Zoo’s late pressure yielded no fruits as Wazito held on to pick maximum points.

Wazito starting XI: Levis Opiyo (GK), Rooney Onyango, Johnstone Omurwa, Maurice Ojwang, Dennis Ng’ang’a, Fidel Origa, Whyvonne Isuza, Kevin Kimani, Musa Masika Ali Hassan, Erick Otieno

Subs: Bixente Otieno, David Otieno, Bernard Ochieng, John Odhiambo, Boniface Omondi, Brian Musa, Amos Asembeka, Michael Owino, Vincent Oburu

Zoo FC starting XI: Vincent Misikhu (GK), Dominic Ouma, Matini Murabwa, Pascal Ogweno, Alex Onchwari, Geoffrey Ondati, Kepha Gichana, Collins Odhiambo, Summy Ggolola, Mathew Odongo, Castro Likhanga

Subs: Brian Lumumba, George Otieno, Dennis Obonyo, Godfrey Ouma, Dennis Ongeri, Ernest Kipkoech, Danson Kiprono

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.