Oburu the hero as Wazito sinks Bidco United at the death

Wazito FC made it three wins in a row with a 2-1 win over Bidco United a Betking Premier League match played at Utalii Grounds on Sunday afternoon.

Eric Gichimu scored the opener for Bidco in the 37th minute with a finish from close range. Dennis Sikhayi drew Wazito level in the 47th minute firing home on the rebound after Edwin Mukolwe had saved an initial Kevin Kimani shot. Substitute Vincent Oburu then won it for the visitors with a stoppage-time scorcher.

Bidco had a huge chance to go ahead in the 1st minute when Emmanuel Mogaka was picked inside the area with a fantastic cross from the right, his header however missed the target. Wazito got theirs in the fourth minute but Dennis Ng’ang’a’s free-kick was saved by Edwin Mukolwe.

Mukolwe once again denied Wazito in the 24th minute pulling three huge saves in quick succession. At the other end, three Bidco players missed a sitter as a well-delivered cross went across the goal.  They missed another chance in the 36th minute Mogaka failed to beat Fredrick Odhiambo in a one on one situation.

Bidco finally got the opener in the 37th minute through Gichimu who beat Odhiambo on Wazito goal from close range. Wazito had a good chance before the interval but Kevin Kimani’s shot from outside the area went wide. Bidco took a 1-0 lead to the break.

Wazito equalized a minute after the break. Kevin Kimani delivered a free-kick into the area, Mukolwe pulled a saved before Dennis Sikhayi fired home on the rebound. Bidco had an opportunity moments later but Odhiambo on Wazito’s goal did well to deny Gichimu who was causing Francis Kimanzi’s side all sorts of problems. At the other end, Musa Masika unleashed a shot that went over the bar.

Both teams continued to attack in search of more goals. Michael Owino had two good chances to get his first goal of the season. His first was a header which was saved by Mukolwe while the second he opted to pass the ball instead of shooting while inside the area.

Just as it looked like the match would end even, Vincent Oburu popped up with a last-minute winner. The striker unleashed a long-range left-foot shot that beat Mukolwe into the back of the net. Wazito have now won three top-flight games in a row for the first time in their history.

Bidco United starting XI: Edwin Omwambani (GK), David Kalama, Lambert Otieno, Francis Oduor, Kassim Mwinyi, Jacob Onyango, Zacharia Gathu, Nelson Chieta, Emmanuel Mogaka (29’ David Orem) , Stephen Waruru (67’ Wilfred Kipruto), Eric Gichimu (85’ Victor Ochieng)

Subs: Omar Adisa (GK), Wilson Anekeya, Anthony Simasi, Dennis Monda, Stephen Obukui, Henry Omollo

Wazito FC starting XI: Fredrick Odhiambo (GK), Dennis Sikhayi, Dennis Ng’ang’a, Johnstone Omurwa, Bernard Ochieng, Fidel Origa, Whyvonne Isuza, Kevin Kimani, Boniface Omondi (65’ Vincent Oburu), Musa Masika, Michael Owino

Subs: Bixente Otieno (GK), Stephen Otieno, Maurice Ojwang, Amos Asembeka, Joshua Nyatini, Brian Musa, Kevin Okumu, Ali Hassan

Bidco United v Wazito FC match officials

Match Commissioner: David Otianga

Center Referee: Duncan Ogosi

 Assistant Referee 1: John Alando

Assistant Referee 2: Jane Cherono Reserve

Referee: Nyabera Libese

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.