Meja at the double as Tusker whips Posta Rangers

Tusker FC consolidated their lead at the top of the Betking Premier League with a resounding 4-1 win over Posta Rangers in a league match played on Thursday afternoon at the Kasarani Annex.

The match was coach Stanley Okumbi’s first as the Mail-men’s head coach. He fielded three new players in his starting 11. Bernard Ondiek, Joshua Nyatini, and Evans Maliachi all started while another new boy Josphat Lopaga came off the bench.

The match was an end-to-end affair in the opening minutes before coming to life in the last six minutes of the first half when Jackson Macharia gave The Brewers the lead with a low finish from close range.


Posta responded less than two minutes later through Ezekiel Okare who capitalized on a defensive lapse. Henry Meja then got Tusker’s second and third of the match in first-half stoppage time.

It was all Tusker after the interval as Robert Matano’ s charges went all out in search of more goals. They were nearly pegged back in the 63rd minute but Hashim Sempala saved the day with a superb goal-line clearance to deny Okare his second of the day.

Tusker finally put the match beyond the hosts’ each in the 66th minute through Luke Namanda. A quick break by the Brewers resulted in goalkeeper Michael Wanjala setting up the winger who lobbed the ball over Byrne Omondi on Posta goal.

Henry Meja, who had tormented Posta the whole afternoon then completed the rout in the 83rd minute. The striker went past Omondi before firing home for his second of the match and Tusker’s fourth of the match. Moments later he had a chance to get his first career treble but he skied his effort from a very prime position.


The win took Tusker’s tally for the season to 29. Posta on the other hand are 14th with ten points.

Posta Rangers starting XI: Byrne Omondi (GK), Evans Maliachi, Simon Mbugua, Suleiman Ngotho, Charles Odette, Joshua Nyatini, Bernard Ondiek, Jackson Dwang, Dennis Oalo, Clinton Kisiavuki, Ezekiel Okare

Subs: Jairus Adira, Timothy Omondi, Kevin Ouma, Simon Omondi, Sammy Odero, Peter Ng’ang’a, Ken Mutembei, Francis Nambute, Josephat Lopaga

Tusker FC starting XI: Michael Wanjala, Kevin Monyi, Vincent Ngesa, Christopher Oruchum, Hillary Wandera, Hashim Sempala, Kevin Okoth, Luke Namanda, Jackson Macharia, Brian Marita

Subs: Emery Mvuyekure, Jimmy Mbugua Rodgers Aloro, Faraj Odenyi, Humphrey Mieno, Mike Madoya, Boniface Muchiri, Christopher Ochieng, Chrispinus Onyango

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.