Macharia the hero as Tusker downs Wazito at the death

Jackson Macharia came off the bench to score a late winner as Tusker defeated Wazito FC 1-0 in a Betking Premier League match staged at the Kasarani Annex on Friday afternoon.

The match started on a high tempo with both sides battling to take control of the encounter. Fidel Origa tried his luck from distance in the second minute but Tusker keeper, Emery Mvuyekure was equal to the task. Next was Musa Masika but his attempt went over the bar. Despite being the dominant side in the opening stages of the game, Tusker barely created any meaningful chance.

Tusker’s best chance came in the 36th minute through a set-piece. Captain Hashim Sempala unleashed a ferocious shot which Levis Opiyo did well to parry for a corner. The first half ended barren.


The second half started in a better fashion. Boniface Omondi threw away a good chance in the 49th minute after a quick break shooting wide.  Henry Meja had Tusker’s best but with Levis Opiyo out of his goal, he dilly-dallied before shooting over the bar. He hit the crossbar moments later with Opiyo well beaten.

Both teams made attacking changes after the hour mark. Tusker introduced Humphrey Mieno, George Odhiambo and Jackson Macharia for Boniface Muchiri, Chrispinus Onyango and Apollo Otieno. Francis Kimanzi brought in Eli Asieche for Boniface Omondi.

Mieno had a good chance in the 75th minute. After a good control outside the area, he unleashed a shot that went way off target.

Just as it looked like the match would end barren, Macharia popped up with a late goal finishing calmly after being set up by Meja. The win solidifies Tusker’s lead at the top.


Tusker starting XI: Emery Mvuyekure (GK), Kevin Monyi, Eugene Asike (43’ Vincent Ngesa) Christopher Oruchum, Hillary Wandera, Hashima Sempala, Luke Namanda (89′ Eric Zakayo), Apollo Otieno (65’ Humphrey Mieno), Boniface Muchiri (65’ George Odhiambo), Chrispinus Onyango (65’ Jackson Macharia),  Henry Meja

Subs: Michael Wanjala, Jimmy Mbugua, Faraj Ominde and David Majak

 Wazito FC starting XI: Levis Opiyo (GK), Dennis Sikhayi, Dennis Ng’ang’a, Johnstone Omurwa, Bernard Ochieng, Fidel Origa, Whyvonne Isuza, Kevin Kimani, Boniface Omondi (65’ Eli Asieche), Musa Masika, Michael Owino (78’ Erick Otieno)

Subs: Fredrick Odhiambo (GK), David Otieno, John Odhiambo, Maurice Ojwang, Amos Asembeka, Brian Musa, Vincent Oburu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.