Homeboyz sink Vihiga United in League opener

Kakamega Homeboyz FC welcomed back BetKing Premier League returnees Vihiga United with a 1-0 defeat in a Round 1 fixture staged at the Mumias Sports Complex from 2 pm on Saturday 28th November.

After being frustrated to a barren opening half, Homeboyz came out guns blazing in the second half and had David Okoth firmly tucking away a Moses Mudavadi cross for 1-0 with just two minutes of the second half played.

The opening half hour was a cagey affair as both team chose to keep the ball wide, and with little chance to get it in the box as the flanks were well marshaled. Henry Juma’s shot therefore, right at the half hour mark, was the first real threat in the clash, but David Juma in goal for Homeboyz countered it with massive experience.

A minute later, David Okoth on the other end of the field tested Joe Bataro but this too was dealt with. Henry Juma would go into the referee’s book in the 38th minute for a foul on Moses Mudavadi and this might have forecast what was to come in the tie.

Nothing was to separate the two by half time.

Vihiga United’s Dennis Wafula (R) challenges Homeboyz’s Owino Sylvester for the ball during the clash.

Coach Muyoti Nicholas threw in Stephen Etyang for Steve Wakhanya as the teams strode back for the second half and two minutes later, David Okoth found the breakthrough.

The lead was a morale booster for the visitors and even as Coach Sammy Okoth withdrew Mke Isabwa for Mutua, Homeboyz were firmly in control. Things would go from bad to worse when Henry Juma went into the referee’s book for the second time and would have his teammates play shorthanded for the final half an hour.

Despite a flurry of changes in the closing stages, United would not be able to nick anything from the tie as they marked their return to the top flight with an opening day loss.


Vihiga United: Joe Bataro  (GK), Dennis Ombeva, Odongo Michael, Sindani Sammy, Werunga Norman, Patrick Okullo (Imbusia), Abisalom Onyango, Henry Juma, Isabwa Michael (Nthatha), Junior Adeyefa (Karani), Wafula Dennis.

Bench: Alube Morgan (GK), Okinda Kevin, Okola Mark, Otieno Hillary, Karani Meshack, Imbusia Alex, Nthatha Wycliffe.

KK Homeboyz: David Juma (GK), Odhiambo Collins, Wainaina Thomas, Owino Sylvester, Oketch Benjamin, Abdallah Wankuru (Esiye), Stephen Wakhanya (Etyang), Ahmed Bai, Moses Mudavadi, David Odhiambo (Masinza), Allan Wanga.

Bench: Aleleey Sheick (GK), Etyang Stephen, Liuva Moffat, Masinza Christohper, Esiye Estone, Shikanda Brian, Atse Bonventure

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.