Football Kenya Federation Premier League (FKFPL) champions Tusker were no doubt helped by a solid backline in their quest for this year’s title.

Among the outstanding defenders was Eugine Asike and he has rightly been nominated for the defender of the year award. We look at his contribution and other nominees.

  • Eugene Asike (Tusker) – the center back formed a good partnership with Rodgers Aloro and he deservedly lifted the premier league trophy for a second time after skippering his side to their twelfth title.
  • Nashon Alembi (KCB) – the central defender did well when paired with either Rama Mwenda or Thomas Harun and despite narrowly falling short of the league, his strong rear-guard action contributed to his team conceding the fewest goals in the league.
  • Bolton Omwenga (Nairobi City Stars) – the marauding left back was a constant threat particularly going forward as evidenced by his two goals and four assists.
  • David Kalama (Bidco United) – he contributed to his team having the third meanest defense in the league in their maiden season and was named man of the match in several games, most recently in their narrow win against Mathare United.
  • Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito) – he was monumental for his side at the back starting with earlier in the season when they conceded only thrice in January and despite his side finishing with a limp, he still helped his side keep ten clean sheets, two less than the best side.
  • Sylvester Owino (Kakamega Homeboyz) – despite his side conceding thirty-nine goals, his presence offered protection to their backline.
  • Daniel Sakari (Kariobangi Sharks) – the twenty-two-year-old right back was at times unplayable as he dominated the right flank and although his side conceding the fourth most goals, his performances going forward certainly caught the eye.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.