Mulee calls-up 24 from the BPL as Kenya’s Comoros preps go up a notch

New Harambee Stars head coach Jacob Ghost Mulee has named his provisional squad for next month’s AFCON 2021 Qualifiers with 24 of the 42 players named being drawn from the BetKing Premier League (BPL).

Kenya is set to take on Comoros in a doubleheader on the 11th and 15th of November with success in both fixtures edging the team closer to a seventh Nations Cup appearance.

Stars lie 2nd in Group G with two points after two rounds of play. Comoros top the group with 4 points with Egypt and Togo making up the rest of the group.

Gor Mahia’s newest recruit, striker Benson Omala has earned his first senior national team call-up in Jacob Mulee’s provisonal squad for the upcoming AFCON Qualifiers against Comoros (PIC: Gor Mahia)

Put faith

Mulee, who took over from Francis Kimanzi less than a week ago, has put faith on the local based players with Gor Mahia youngster Benson Omala a testament to this.

The 17-year-old striker, who is a Form Four student at Kisumu Day High School, rose to prominence during last season’s campaign where his performances while turning out for Western Stima saw him become the youngest player ever to claim a Premier League Player of the Month award.

The only local based striker named in the squad, Omala joins a star-studded attacking department that will be led by Japan based Michael Olunga.

Three players

Omala is one of three players named in the squad from Gor. The 18 time Kenyan champions have the most representatives in the squad alongside Tusker, Sofapaka, Wazito and Kariobangi Sharks.

The local based players are expected to hit camp on Wednesday 28 with the foreign based ones expected to start jetting in from November 2nd. A final list of 20 players will be named in the lead-up to the first-leg fixture to be played in Nairobi.

Below is the squad which also includes two reserve players;


Arnold Origi (HIFK, Finland), Robert Mboya (Tusker, Kenya), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Ian Otieno (Zesco United, Zambia), Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya)


Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito, Kenya), Brian Mandela (Unattached), Joash Onyango (Simba, Tanzania), Daniel Sakari (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya) Andrew Juma (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Mike Kibwage (Sofapaka, Kenya), Joseph Okumu (Elfsborg, Sweden), Samuel Olwande (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Baraka Badi (KCB, Kenya), David Owino (Zesco United, Zambia), Hillary Wandera (Tusker, Kenya), Eric Ouma (AIK, Sweden), David Owino (Mathare United, Kenya)


Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Victor Wanyama (Impact Montreal, Canada), Ismael Gonzalez (UD Las Palmas, Spain), Eric Johanna Omondi (Jonkoping’s Sodra, Sweden), Cliff Nyakeya (Masr FC, Egypt), Antony Akumu (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Musa Masika (Wazito, Kenya), Bonface Muchiri (Tusker, Kenya) Lawrence Juma (Sofapaka, Kenya), Johanna Omolo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Ayub Timbe (Unattached), Peter Thion’go (AFC Leopards, Kenya), Hassan Abdallah (Bandari, Kenya), Elli Asieche (Sofapaka, Kenya), Mathew Olaka (Unattached), Moses Mudavadi (Kakamega Homeboyz, Kenya), Austin Odhiambo (AFC Leopards, Kenya)


Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), Benson Omala (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Masud Juma (JS Kabylie, Algeria), John Avire (Tanta FC, Egypt), Oscar Wamalwa (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya)


Dennis Sikhayi (Wazito, Kenya), James Kinyanjui (Mathare United, Kenya)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.