Clinical Sharks make light work of KCB

Kariobangi Sharks put KCB to the sword with a resounding 3-0 victory in a Betking Premier League (BPL) round 14 fixture staged at the Kasarani Stadium Annex on Sunday afternoon.

Erick Kapaito, Boniface Onyango and James Mazembe scored the goals for William Muluya’s side.

The win has Sharks remain in 5th place still but they move up to within two points of second placed KCB with 24 points.

Kariobangi Sharks went ahead as early as the first minute through Erick Kapaito who finished easily after he was set up by Mazembe, who has come into his own this campaign with his forward play and has now provided seven assists.


The William Muluya coached side did not stop there and continued to raid their hosts with Mazembe, Kapaito and Julius Masaba causing The Bankers’ backline problems.

To their credit, KCB also had chances of their own with Reagan Otieno, Victor Omondi and Henry Eshiboko all coming close to grabbing the equalizer but a resolute backline coupled with superb reflexes from Brandon Obiero in the Sharks goal thwarted their forays.

Against the run of play, Sharks took the lead through defender Onyango, who beat Joseph Okoth with a screamer and secure a comfortable two goal cushion for Muluya’s charges heading into the interval.

At halftime, KCB tactician Zedekiah Otieno switched up his attack, brining on Simon Abuko and Derrick Otanga for Reagan and Samuel Mwangi.


The changes added a bit of impetus to the Bankers’ attack as they sought a comeback. Victor Omondi almost pulled one back just five minutes after the interval but Obiero was again there to keep his team’s two goal lead intact.

KCB would however fail to find a way into the game as in the 67th minute Mazembe, who was a thorn in the flesh for the Bankers all afternoon, made sure of the spoils with a well-deserved goal after a superb run down the left.

Below is how both teams lined-up;

KCB Starting XI: Joseph Ochuka, Baraka Badi, David Owino, Nashon Nanyendo, Rama Mwenda, Harun Thomas, Henry Onyango, Vincent Omondi, Samuel Mwangi, Reagan Otieno

Subs: Gabriel Andika, Daniel Odiwour, Brian Wepo, Brian Ndenga, Bethuel Warambo, Dennis Odhiambo, Victor Omune, Derrick Otanga, Simon Abuko

Kariobangi Sharks: Brandon Obiero (GK), Daniel Sakari, Bonface Onyango, Geoffery Lemu, Tom Teka, Shaphan Oyugi, Patilah Omoto, Julius Masaba, Erick Juma, Erick Kapaito, James Mazembe

Subs: Brian Olang, Boniface Mwangemi, Alphonce Omija, Ibrahim Ochieng, Peter Oudu, Daglas Mokaya, Peter Lwasa, Fredrick Alushula, Robert Onyango

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.