Chieta strike the difference as Bidco record first win in Kisumu

Bidco United recorded their first ever top flight victory on Sunday 3rd when they dispatched hosts Vihiga United by a solitary goal at the Moi Stadium in Kisumu.

The two former second tier sides were separated by a first half Nelson Chieta strike.

Opting for power play from their defensive third, Vihiga pinned the visitors in their own half during the opening exchanges but only up to the 15th minute. Having soaked in enough pressure, the visitors took control of the midfield and began putting Vihiga goalkeeper Morgan Alube to the task.

It would, however, take the Chieta’s snapshot from outside the box in the 37th, having been set up by Zachary Gathu, minute to open the scores.

Bidco carried the lead into the break with the only blip on their first half performance a Francis Oduor yellow card.

The hosts introduced Dennis Ombeva for Michael Odongo ten minutes after the resumption. Hillary Oriadha would follow in for Michael Isabwa as coach Sammy Okoth sought to even the scores-perhaps get a win after.

Edwin Mukolwe, in goal for Bidco, was put to the task in the 78th minute when a Dennis Wafula shot came through a maze of feet. reacting quick, he parried it out for a corner kick to keep his side in the game.

Coach Okoth then threw in Imbusia Alex and Nigerian import Junior Adeyefa for Mark Okola and Wafula Dennis for a last minute push. Nothing was forthcoming for the hosts. Bidco on the other hand, made their first and only change in the tie but withdrawing Chieta in the 90th minute for Gichimu Eric.

This was however not to be as, having sensed their first victory, Bidco defended resolutely, getting up with every knockdown to grab the full set of three points.

How the two teams lined up:

Vihiga Starting XI: Morgan Alube (GK), John Muyesu, Michael Odongo, Sammy Sindani, Norman Werunga, Mark Okola, Wycliffe Nthatha, Lesley Otieno, Dennis Wafula, David Simiyu, Michael Isabwa.

Subs: Michael matasio, Abisalom Onyango, Daudi Saisi, Dennis Ombeva, Junior Adeyefa, Alex Imbusia, Patrick Okullo.

Bidco: Omwabani Edwin (GK), Kalama David, Otieno Lambert, Oduor Francis, Mwinyi Kassim, Onyango Jacob, Gathu Zachary, Mogaka Emmanuel, Chieta Nelson, Waruru Stephen, Mutamba Piston.

Subs: Adia Omar, Anekeya Wilson, Orem David, Simasi Anthony, Gichimu Eric, Dennis Monda, Obukui Stephen, Omollo Henry, Wamalwa Edwin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.