Bidco stun Tusker to claim fourth win in a row

Bidco United ended Tusker FC’s seven-match winning streak by beating the Brewers 2-1 in a BetKing Premier League (BPL) match played at the MISC Kasarani on Saturday.

Stephen Waruru scored the opening goal in the first half after being set up by David Kalama. Humphrey Mieno then looked to have earned Tusker a point when he converted a penalty with 10 minutes left. But Bidco would not be denied the win when substitute Batts Awita settled the tie with a late winner.

Bidco’s early forays

The match started on a high with Alex Sunga forcing Tusker keeper Michael Wanjala to make a save in the second minute with a low shot.

Bidco were visibly the more dangerous side and in the 8th minute, Stephen Waruru’s effort from a free-kick went wide.

The goal finally came in the 15th minute when Waruru connected with Kalama’s delivery to beat Wanjala.

United continued asking all the questions and ten minutes before the break Lambert Oyuga rattled the cross bar with Wanjala well beaten.

On the other end, Tusker won a couple of free-kicks but Boniface Muchiri and Hashim Sempala failed to trouble Zamu Adisa in goal for Bidco. United took a 1-0 lead to the break.

Tusker improvement

Tusker showed improvement after the interval but their attempts to get a goal were severally thwarted by a resolute United side.

The Brewers continued to knock at Bidco goal winning a couple of corners which all came to nothing.

Sensing that things may not go his side’s way, Tusker coach Robert Matano took off lead striker and top scorer Henry Meja and replaced him with Christopher Ochieng in the 66th minute.

The leveler finally came in the 80th minute through the ever-green Humphrey Mieno. The midfielder came off the bench to score from the penalty spot after Kevin Monyi was brought down.

Awita then settled the match with a stoppage time goal to help Bidco pick their fourth win in a row and in process condemned Tusker to their second defeat of the season.

How both teams lined-up;

Bidco United Starting XI: Zamu Adisa (GK), David Kalama, Lambert Otieno, Collins Okumu, Francis Oduor, Zachariah Gathu, Jacob Onyango, Peter Nzuki, Alex Juma, Erick Gichimu, Stephen Waruru

Subs: Edwin Omwambani, Geoffery Gitau, Wilson Anekeya, Anthony Simasi, Nelson Chieta, Batts Awita, David Orem, Hillary Shirao, Henry Omollo

Tusker Starting XI: Michael Wanjala (GK), Kevin Monyi, Hillary Wandera, Christopher Oruchum, Vincent Ngesa, Hashim Sempala, Faraj Ominde, Luke Namanda, Chrispinus Onyango, Boniface Muchiri, Henry Meja

Subs: Emery Mvuyekure, Jimmy Mbugua, Rodgers Aloro, Michael Madoya, Humphrey Mieno, Erick Zakayo, Jackson Macharia, George Odhiambo, Christopher Ochieng

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.