Skip to main content

Dockers Earn Stunning Victory, Gor Mahia Suffers Second Defeat, Simba Wa Nairobi and Murang’a Seal Break Winless Streaks.

By March 9, 2024No Comments

Fidel Origa’s goal was the standout moment for us in this gameweek.

As the intensity heightened on the second day of the matchweek, Simba wa Nairobi arrived at Machakos seeking revenge and a possible victory after a drought. They initiated the game with a high tempo, capitalizing on their tactical and defensive strengths. In the 40th minute, Robinson Asenwa set up Oalo, who netted a goal for City Stars. Bidco United gradually gained control of the game thereafter. The match progressed with numerous attempts and saves, with Nairobi City Stars appearing poised for a victory until the very last added minute of the second half. At that critical moment, the tables turned, and Jacob Onyango, with a long-range shot, found the back of the net, equalizing the scoreline to a 1-1 draw.

At Mbaraki, the home side seized the day, bringing joy to their fans and securing a well-deserved victory against the league leaders. Gor Mahia’s resilience was tested as they suffered their second league defeat of the season to Bandari, who fielded the same squad as in their previous match. Despite Gor Mahia missing three key players, they managed to hold their ground amidst the defeat. Jonathan McKinstry made tactical changes, reintroducing Patrick Sibomana and Ernest Wendo to the starting lineup. The match commenced slowly, with Gor Mahia gradually asserting dominance after 10 minutes. However, John Baraza’s side opted to allow K’Ogalo possession while striking on the counter with Francis Kahiro and Abdallah Hassan. Bandari gained momentum after a cooling break, keeping Gor Mahia goalkeeper Kevin Omondi on his toes. Despite missed opportunities, Bandari claimed the lead through Fidel Origa’s goal, assisted by Shashiri Nahimana. As the hosts pushed for a second goal, Gor Mahia struggled to find the net, with Omondi thwarting their efforts. Despite late substitutions, Gor Mahia couldn’t break down Bandari’s resilient defense, ending the match 1-0 in favor of the hosts.

To cap off the second day of matchweek 24, Murang’a Seals faced off against Sofapaka in a game broadcasted by Azam, marking an end to their winless streak. Yussuf Ali displayed impeccable skill with a perfect volley, finding the back of the net in the 24th minute with an assist from Balecho, granting Murang’a Seals an early lead. They further strengthened their position in the 61st minute of the second half when Maruti set up Kiplagat, who confidently struck the ball into the net, extending the scoreline to 2-0. Despite Sofapaka’s determination and a goal from Thomas Kakaire, the match ultimately concluded in favor of Murang’a Seal.

The final matches scheduled for March 9, 2024, will include Posta Rangers vs. Kariobangi Sharks at Police Sacco Stadium starting from 13:00, live on KBC; Kakamega Homeboyz vs. Ulinzi Stars at Mumias Sports Complex; Tusker vs. AFC Leopards at Machakos Stadium, live on Azam; Nzoia Sugar vs. Talanta FC at Sudi Stadium, all kicking off at 15:00; and Kenya Police vs. Muhoroni Youth at Police Sacco Stadium, live on KBC starting from 16:00.

How they lined up.

Bidco United v Nairobi City Stars.

Bidco United: Odiwuor Daniel (GK), David Kalama, Oloo Lameck, Wandera Gabriel, Nzuki Peter, Said Tsuma, Onyango Jacob (C), Opondo Chris, Mokaya Douglas, Asiago Clinton, Brian Mboya.

Nairobi City Stars: Edwin Mukolwe (GK), Rowland Makati, Calvins Opollo (C), Dennis Wanjala, Wycliffe Omondi, Abuyeka Kubasu, Shem Oluoch, Mohammed Bajaber, Newton Ochieng, Robinson Asenwa, Dennis Oalo.

Murang’a Seals v Sofapaka.

Murang’a Seals: Munyasa Bonphas (GK), Munyovi Dennis, Semo Samuel, Peter Mwaura (c), Marvin Brian, Odhiambo Dennis, Kapchanga Titus, Yusuf Ally, Kiplangat John, Kweyu Dennis, Balecho Erick.

Sofapaka: Ouma Evans (GK), Oluoch Vincent, Baron Ochieng, Okal Roy, Asaba Stallone, Ikekhai Sunday, Mieno Humphrey, Kalama Andre, Msagha Darius, Thomas Kakaire, Odhiambo Paul.

Bandari v Gor Mahia.
Bandari: Joseph Ochuka, Amai Atariza, Michael Opundo, Brian Odera, Andrew Juma, Fidel Otieno, David Sakwa, Shassiri Nahimana, Francis Kahiro, William Wadri, Abdala Hassan

Gor Mahia: Kevin Omondi, Rooney Onyango, Geoffrey Ochieng, Selvester Owino, Ernest Wendo, Sharrif Musa, Lawrence Juma, Benson Omala, Austin Odhiambo, Patrick Sibomana

Leave a Reply